St Mary's Church, Edvin Loach

Recent Photograph of St Mary's Church (Edvin Loach)

St Mary's Church was built 1858-60 to a design by George Gilbert Scott, and at the expense of Edmund HIGGINSON (who - no doubt for the usual Victorian reason of inheritance - had changed his surname from BARNEBY). He lived at nearby Saltmarshe Castle, an early Victorian building, which survived until 1953.

The church is described in its guide leaflet as “Victorian Gothic”. It is nevertheless quite captivating, and a delight to find, at the end of a potholed lane, and atop the site of a former Norman “motte and bailey” fortification. castle. Parts of the bailey, and the surrounding ditch can still be seen to the north and west of the church.

(Information provided by Rosemary Lockie)

Image contributed by Rosemary Lockie on 13th October 2008.
This is a Genealogy Website
URL of this page:
Logo by courtesy of the Open Clip Art Library