Extract from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831.
Transcribed by Mel Lockie, © Copyright 2010
Lewis Topographical Dictionaries

INGESTRIE, a parish in the southern division of the hundred of PIREHILL, county of STAFFORD, 3 miles (E.N.E.) from Stafford, containing 125 inhabitants. The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry of Stafford, and diocese of Lichfield and Coventry, rated in the king's books at £10. 16. 8., and in the patronage of Earl Talbot. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, was erected in 1676, by Walter Chetwynd, Esq., on a more convenient site than that occupied by the ancient and decayed edifice; the chancel is paved with black and white marble, and many of the windows are ornamented with stained glass, exhibiting the armorial bearings of the Chetwynds, to which family belonged Ingestrie hall, built in the reign of Edward III., and now the residence of Earl Talbot, though the principal part is more modern, and in the style of architecture prevailing in the reign of Elizabeth. From the grounds, which are extensive and laid out with much taste, there is an extremely picturesque view, embracing the ruins of Chartley castle. The river Trent runs through the parish; and there is a brine spring, the water of which is raised by a steam-engine, conveyed to Weston, and there manufactured into table salt. Ingestrie gives the inferior title of viscount to Earl Talbot.

This is a Genealogy Website
URL of this page:
Logo by courtesy of the Open Clip Art Library